The Bainbridge Island Japanese American Exclusion Memorial is located on the site of the former Eagledale ferry dock. This is where the Bainbridge Island Japanese American families forced from their homes during World War II boarded the ferry on March 30, 1942 bound for a concentration camp existence for the duration of the war. The Memorial is located in Pritchard Park, which was established in 2005 with a combination of private funds and funding from local, state and federal governments. A Memorial Wall containing the names of each of the 276 Japanese Americans who lived on Bainbridge Island at the start of World War II was built and dedicated in 2011.
The newest phase of the Memorial development was the construction of a Departure Dock, which evokes the experience of those boarding the ferry, leaving their homes behind and facing an unknown future.
Architect: Jones & Jones
Status: Completed March 2021